Notifications

Receiving alerts when a contact needs your attention.

Using notifications, respond.io platform will send you alerts whenever there are contacts that require your attention. Notifications can be received anytime, even though you are not on the platform.

Notification Types

On the platform, there are many events that will trigger a notification such as:

Event

Description

New Message Received

(Assigned Contact)

A notification will be sent to the assigned user, notifying them on the new messages received from a contact.

New Message Received

(Unassigned Contact)

A notification will be sent to all users in the space, notifying them on the new messages received from a contact.

Contact Assigned

A notification will be sent to the assigned user, notifying them on the contact assignment performed by another user or automation

Comment Mention

A notification will be sent to the assigned user, notifying them on the comment mention by another user

Custom Notification

When a Custom Notification is sent via RB_Notify, everyone on the platform will receive a notification.

You can disable notifications for new messages from unassigned contacts from User Profile.

Receiving Notifications

There are two channels in which you will receive notifications from the Platform.

Notification Center

Whenever a new notification is received, it will be listed in the Notification Center. The Notification Center can be found on the top left of the platform. Look for the icon button that resembles a bell.

When there are new notifications, a badge will appear atop the Notification Center icon, displaying the number of new unread notifications.

Unread Notifications

You can press the blue "Mark All as Read" to mark all of your notifications as read.

While the Respond.io Platform is open, receiving a new notification cause notification sound to be played.

You can click of any of the notifications in the Notification Center to immediately navigate to the conversation with associated contact in Messages.

Email Notification

An email will also be sent to you when you receive a new notification.

An Email Notification

To prevent your inbox from getting spams, email alerts for new messages are heavily gated for messaging notifications. For example, you will not receive email notifications for new messages if you are currently active on the Platform. There is also a minimum buffer time between these alerts if you remain inactive on the Platform and the frequency is listed as follows:

Frequency

Trigger

First Notification

The first email notification will be sent as soon as you received a message during your inactivity.

Second Notification

The second email notification will be sent when you received another message 1 hour after the first email during your inactivity

Third Notification

The third email notification will be sent when you received another message 24 hours after the first email during your inactivity

** Applicable to notifications for new messages only

Note that this time-gating only applies to notifications for new messages. The notification frequency will reset when a user is active on the platform. Other email notifications, such as Comment Mentions, Contact Assigned, and Custom Notifications, do not observe this and will always be sent out.

Mobile Notification

For users who are using the respond.io app, they will receive the notification on their device in the form of Push Notifications. As of now, both email and mobile notification shares the same frequency and settings.

Notification Settings

You can choose to opt-out of email and mobile notifications at any time. To do this, navigate to your User Profile.

You can navigate to the User Profile from the user dropdown menu on the top right of the platform. Click on your account name to open the user dropdown menu and select the "Profile" option.

Under the Notification Preferences field, you can change how often you will be alerted by email and mobile

By default, you will receive email and mobile notifications for all contacts. However, you can also choose to receive notifications only for contacts that have been assigned to you. Alternatively, you can also completely opt-out of receiving any email and mobile notifications at all.

Remember to press the blue Update button to save changes you made to your User Profile.