This module can be accessed from the side navigation menu under the menu item, Messages.
Messaging Module has 5 main sections
Contact View Selector
The view selector is a dropdown where you can select different views of the contacts.
There is a quick option to show contacts assigned to you only by pressing on Mine at the contact view selector. This quick option can help you retrieve the list of assigned contacts so you can do what you needed to do with it.
The Notification Indicators show the number of contacts available in a chosen filter.
As for the color, please refer to the following:
There are no unread messages
There are unread messages that requires your attention
Based on the view selected, the list of contacts can vary depending on the view criteria. The contact list is located at the left of the Messaging Module and it refreshes every time a new view is selected or a message is received.
Whether or not you are sending a message or simply want to review past conversations, you must first select a contact you want to view.
By default, the contact list is sorted by the most recent message.
The small round logo located at the bottom right of the avatar indicates the status of the contact. If the contact does not have an open conversation, a green checked logo will show. Otherwise, it will not show anything.
The small round logo located at the bottom right of the contact list item indicates which messaging channel the contact originated from.
If there are unread messages, there will be a count highlighted in a blue box besides the contact name.
The date on the top right of the contact record shows the last message sent or received. The arrow indicates the most recent message type either outgoing or incoming.
The initial or user avatar on the bottom right indicates which user is this contact assigned to.
Messaging Console is where you can view the messages received from a contact and you can compose or draft messages to respond to the contact. When a contact is selected from the contact list, the conversation history will load including the Message Metadata and Conversation Events.
When you hover a message, the message metadata will show in a callout. The metadata consists of the sender of the message and timestamp of the message statuses.
Refer to Message Status for more information on the different message statuses.
As for the sender, it indicates where the message was sent via.
Survey via Automation
Space Name (Greeting Message)
Survey via Dialogflow
Facebook Messenger Message Tag
User Name (Regular Outgoing Message)
When a contact replies to one of your messages, it will show in the messaging module on which message is he/she referring to provide context. Bear in mind that Reply-To context is only applicable to Incoming Messages only.
When a user sends a message to the contact, the user can check on the delivery status to ensure the message is delivered.
You can check on the delivery status of a message by hovering over the message
For each message sent to the contact, there will be an indicator that indicates the status of the message. The statuses are described as follow:-
The message is successfully sent
The message is successfully delivered to the contact
The message is read by the contact
There was a failure sending the message to the contact
The Message History will also keep track of important events, such as when a conversation is closed by which source.
User Assigned User Assigned by Automation
User Assigned by Bot
Failed to Assign
Conversation Closed (User)
Conversation Closed (Automation)
Conversation Closed (Bot)
Conversation Closed (Contact Merge)
Conversation Opened (User)
Conversation Opened (Automation)
Conversation Opened (Contact)
Conversation Opened (Welcome Event)
Survey Started by Automation Survey Started by Broadcast Survey Canceled Survey Canceled by Automation Survey Canceled by Broadcast Survey Canceled by API
Bot Status Update
Bot Status Off
Bot Status Off by Automation
Bot Status Off by Bot
Bot Status On
Bot Status On by Automation
Bot Status On by Bot
Event coming from Channel
Event when a visitor navigates to a different page (Web Chat)
New Channel Added
If there is a need to trigger a event with a reference, it is possible to do so with selected channels (Facebook, WhatsApp). A Conversation Opened event or Channel event can be triggered with a reference and the reference code will be stored with the event. For events that contains URL as source, the URL will also be stored and showed in the Messaging Module.
Here is a quick guide on how to send messages to your contacts.
Assigning a contact and closing a conversation work in tandem to help you and your team stay organized when dealing with an influx of conversations. Assign contacts to specific agents and archive resolved conversations by closing it.
Assignment and Closing a Conversation are designed to work together to reduce the workload of the agent and manager. There are a few key actions that happen automatically to achieve this:
Anytime the platform receives a new message from a contact with no open conversation, a new conversation will be opened for this contact.
Responding to any unassigned contact will automatically assign the contact to you
Closing an open conversation of a contact will automatically unassign the contact from the agent
Refer to the respective pages for more information
A Contact can be snoozed to temporarily exclude the contact from the list. This can be done by pressing the alarm icon at the top right of the Messages Module and select the time for how long the contact will be snoozed.
Once the time is up, the Contact will be unsnoozed and appears in the list again.
At any point in time, if you wish to unsnooze the contact, you can do so by clicking on this
On the right of the Messaging Module, you can find the contact details of the selected contact. Here, you can easily access useful information to help you respond to the contact. While responding to the contact, you can update the contact details with the latest information you obtain from them.
Read more about contact details here :