Responding to messages

Here is some quick tips on how to respond to your contacts in a more efficient and productive manner.

Messages Module

The Messages module is where you can view all your conversations with your contacts and interact with them when necessary. You can access this module from the left navigation menu.

Receiving New Messages

New messages will appear on the contact list of the Message module (highlighted in green). New contacts will be unassigned by default. When the platform receives messages from new contacts, the conversation will be queued in the default view, New.

Replying to a contact

When the platform receives new messages from a new contact, the contact will be marked as PENDING and unassigned by default.

A user can compose and send new messages from the text box on the bottom of the message history. Simply click into the message area (highlighted in green) and start typing.

Here are some useful tips when responding to your contacts :

Use emojis for friendly messages You can include 😄, 👍, 🌟 or many other emojis in your messages.

Make use of snippets to reply faster Snippets are message templates that can be used to reply to your contacts.

Attach files when you need to You can attach files such as invoice, instruction guide or etc to your contacts when it is necessary.

Send a survey If you need your customer to fill up a questionnaire, you can set up a survey and send it to them.

When you are ready to send the message, hit the Send button or press Enter on your keyboard to send it.

When you respond to an unassigned contact, the contact will be assigned to you automatically.

Assigning a conversation

There are two methods of assigning a conversation, automatic contact assignment and manual assignment.

Tips: Assigning a user to the conversation is important so that your teammates are aware of who is responding to the contact.

Manual Assignment

If your business does not wish to assign the contacts automatically, the assignment can be done manually via the Messaging module. Here is how you can assign a contact to another user.

Automatic Assignment

Contact Assignments can be done automatically via space settings or automation. Refer to the following on how it can be done.

Resolving a conversation

When you have resolved your contact's issue and wish to hide it from the queue, you can mark it done.

By marking the contact done, the contact will no longer be in the queue until the platform receives new messages from them.

When marking a contact done, the contact's status will be updated to DONE and unassigned from all users. If you need to refer to the contact, you can find them in the Contacts module.

What's next

The next cool thing to do here is creating a chatbot to respond to your contacts. This step is optional, however, the chatbot can be helpful as it is capable in replacing some manual efforts.

You can create a chatbot by integrating to Dialogflow. Start with the following guide :-