Contact Views

You can use views to filter the contacts and reuse the views whenever needed.

Using Contact Views

Use contact views to view a set of filtered contacts according to a set of predefined filters. Contact views can help you to get to your to-dos as quick as possible.

View Selector

Tips: respond.io provides a set of default views to view your contacts. It is available for use to all the users of the Space.

View Selector

The View Selector is available at two locations, Contacts and Messages. You will be able to see a list of preset views and custom views in the selector.

View Selector from Contacts
View Selector from Messages

Adding a view

If the default views do not achieve your filtering needs, you can add new views to the space and reuse it when necessary.

Step 1: Navigate to any View Selector Navigate to Contacts or Messages module and press on the View Selector

Step 2: Select ADD NEW VIEW At the bottom of View Selector, there is an option where you can add a new view.

Step 3: Name the view Give an appropriate name to the view and make sure the name is self explanatory.

Adding new view from Contacts
Adding new view from Messages

Step 4: Specify the filters Based on your filtering needs, specify the filters for the new view.

Filtering options

Filtering option

Type

Description

Channel

Multi select

In which channel the contact originated from

Status

Checkbox

In which status the contact is currently in

Assignee

Multi select

In which users the contact is assigned to

Tags

Multi select

In which tags the contacts are tagged with

Gender

Checkbox

In which gender the contact is

Locale

Multi select

In which locale the contact initiated with

Last Message

Date range

In which date the contact's last message time

Date Added

Date range

In which date the contact was added

Step 5: Save the view Review the options and press SAVE VIEW to save the filters to the new view

By default, newly created views are only accessible by creators. Creators may share the views with their team or other users of the Space.

Sharing a view

You can share the views you added to other users or teams in the Space. Views can be shared in 3 different settings :-

Share settings

Description

Private

The view can only be accessed by the creator

Public

The view can be accessed by all users in the Space

Shared

The view can be accessed by specific users or team

Step 1: Navigate to any View Selector Navigate to the View Selector or Filtering Options of a view Step 2: Select More Actions Press on the icon and select Share Settings from the menu

Sharing a view

Step 3: Select a preferred share settings Select which share setting you prefer. If you select Shared, please fill in the list of users or teams you would like to share with.

Step 4: Save the view Review the settings and press SAVE when you are ready.

When a view is shared, it can be shared with multiple users, multiple teams or a combination of both.

Editing a View

Step 1: Navigate to any View Selector Select the View to be edited from the View Selector.

Step 2: Show the filtering options Press the button to bring up Filtering options.

Step 3: Make changes to the filtering options Change any of the Filtering options and you will see the name of the view has "Edited" appended at the end of the View name.

Step 4: Save the view Once you are done with the Filtering options, either save the edited View by pressing SAVE VIEW button at the bottom. Alternatively, you can press the drop up button to save it as a new view.

Edited View Save Options

Use Views to organize your contacts into groups. To look at your different Views, use the dropdown on the top left of the Contacts page.

Renaming a View

Step 1: Navigate to any View Selector Navigate to the View Selector or Filtering Options of a view

Step 2: Select More Actions Press on the icon and select Rename from the menu

Step 3: Rename the view Give the selected a new name

Step 4: Save the view Press the blue "SAVE" button to save the new name.

Deleting a View

If a view is no longer relevant or a duplicate of another, it can be deleted from the space by choosing Delete from the actions menu.

Only Saved Views can be edited, renamed and deleted. Preset Views e.g. Pending will not have the option to edit, rename or delete.

Be careful when you delete an automation rule as it may be used by other users in the space. Bear in mind that the deletion cannot be undone.